“loving can hurt, loving can hurt sometimes” (‘Photograph’ by Ed Sheeran)

The power of a song, music in particular is so strong. It can influence your mood to an unimaginable level. There are happy songs, sad, motivational, depressing… a song for each human emotion. One can literally predict the state of one’s mind just by knowing what song the person is listening to.

Well, not every prediction could be true.

It could be a happy song for you, the predictor, but could be depressing for the one listening to it. Probably this song has something to do with the trauma one has faced, you may never know.

If you observe closely, these songs or music adds value to your life. Imagine if there was no music to associate with for the times you enjoyed in your college days, or some song on which you were dancing your heart out at a party, or maybe even a song that reminds you of your high school sweetheart. All these happy times. And sad. The songs which remind you of someone you lost, probably a sad song which takes you on a rollercoaster ride of memories and thoughts of that special someone you had. All this, be it happy or sad, adds value to your life. Makes you who you are right now.

“Loving can heal, loving can mend your soul”

Imagine if there was no such song to be associated with. No happy memories, no sad feelings. That’s just being a statue. A cold one at that. Few songs make you sad or depressing? No problem, delete them from your playlist. But you can’t entirely delete it form the face of this world. When you come across this particular song, cherish the moments associated with it. Remember, those moments have contributed to what you are today.

A lot of people have told me, rather complained, that by listening to one particular song multiple times it gets boring. Yes it does, I’m a victim of it myself. In this digital ear, these are a few hindrances, or put it more precisely, a bane. You could play one song all day long without having to do anything at all. There might have been an era where to listen to a particular song multiple times one has to change the phonograph record each time on the gramophone. I kid you not, that was a luxury. What I personally try to do is simply not play the song at all. The temptation is too strong to resist but I don’t want to ruin a beautiful song right?

I always hum some song or the other while working. My productivity is directly proportional to the song I’m humming. If it’s a rock song, you bet I’d be working like a beast and if it’s some happy-to-go song, like Photograph by Ed Sheeran I’ve been humming to today, the productivity is not affected, it’s just that I’m not a beast today. Humming a depressing song makes me go hide under a rock. I generally avoid that.

While there could be more than just this to music and its dimensions, I simply have laid it down in simple terms. In my terms. Music holds a special place in my heart. I’m sure it does for most of us. No matter what, don’t let that music in you fade away.

“So you can keep me
Inside the pocket of your ripped jeans
Holding me closer ’til our eyes meet
You won’t ever be alone, wait for me to come home”

Leave a Reply

